1st BS Abdur Rahman Institute of Science and Technology

(Crescent School Of Law) – Intra-School Moot Court Competition

REPORT



Introduction of Moot Court -

Moot Courts not only offer a chance for the young students of law to expose themselves to the intricacies of factual situations from a legal perspective but also helps them develop proper argumentative skills - the bread and butter of the legal profession. A lawyer earns through his speech, and what better way could be than to hone these skills in a proper court-room atmosphere. As such the legal profession has many other aspects. However, there cannot be anything more important to a lawyer than to present her case before the court. This is where the Moot Courts hold primary relevance.

The Crescent School of Law has taken the initiative to host the first 1st Moot Court Competition with an aim to inculcate mooting culture amongst the students and prepare them with the habits to grasp the courts process and policies. The objective is to imbibe mooting and debating skills in law students, thereby boosting them to become familiar with the formal procedure of the courts; and set them up on their journey to seek justice.

This competition brings with itself the exposure, and the experience of being judged by prominent advocates, alongside academic stalwarts.

In this backdrop, the Moot Court Committee (MCC) at the Crescent School of Law (CSL) has taken the initiative to hold the 1st Intra-School Moot Court Competition for its students. The Competition was been proposed to be scheduled from March 28-29, 2022 at the CSL building.

Orientation

The Orientation Programme was attended by all the participants. It was organised to engage them with the actual procedures and the etiquettes of the courtroom advocacy. The final years conducted an orientation programme on the 11th of March, 2022. The initiative was taken to make the entire process a student-driven exercise. The juniors, it seems, were able to imbibe in a full-fledged manner as the seniors gave their first-hand experience on their mooting.





Moot participants –



A total of twelve teams had registered for this competition. The details of the participated teams is given below-

TEAM CODE	TEAM MEMBERS
T-1	Albert Jasper G.P, Rasheeqa, Gowtham
T-2	Sanjay Davidson, Kishore, Imran khan
T-3	Abdur Rahman S.A, JINO S.P, Abel Selva Kumar
T-4	Prasanna Reddy, Shraddha R Menon, Yamini V
T-5	Nilofer Fathima N, Sanobar Fatema M, Sanobar Fathima A
T-6	Sharan D, Barath M, Rohit J
T-7	Afya Arsheen A, Shalini S, Srimathi S
T-8	Nishok Krishna V.S, MD Sulthan Maricar M.A.M, Kousik K
T-9	Mohamed Shakeel M, Mohammed Shakeel A, Sandeep
	Kumar J
T-10	Aliasgar, Kumaran S, Fatheen Thawheed A.M
T-11	Nashita Nazneen A, MD Arshadullah Sheriff, Dhivyashree
	S.E
T-12	Sheik Allaudin M, Afthaf Hussain A, Preetha R

Formation of committees of student volunteers -

After receiving registration forms from the participants, we started to form committees of student volunteers for the said competition. We received an overwhelming response from the students. With the guidance of our Moot Court Committee Convenor Dr. Nizamuddin Ahmad Siddiqui and Coordinator Mr. Shahnawaz Ahmed these volunteers were shouldered with work in different committees. Such as

- Moot court organizing committee.
- Court room management Committee.
- Memorial assessment Committee.
- Tabulation Committee.
- Examination team (researchers test).
- Disciplinary Committee
- Event management Committee
- Photography media Committee
- Event reporting Committee
- Student volunteers

Inaugural meeting -

The opening ceremony was conducted on 28th March, 2022. The Dean of CSL, inaugurated the First Intra Moot Competition. The Convenor and the Coordinator spoke on the arena of the competition.



Preliminary round:



On the morning of the competition, draw of lots happened, giving the team members a before-hand portrayal of who was against them and which side are they presenting, followed by which the exchange of memorials took place.

The preliminary round was conducted in the CSL building. Three of the classrooms were converted into a courtroom and two teams presenting the prosecution and the defence were present alongside the judges and the Court officers.

The preliminary rounds were conducted in four sessions, whereby, each of team presented both sides in the case. The first preliminary round was conducted in the morning and the second, post lunch. It was based on the markings of each session, the teams were finalised for the semis.

The names of the judges for the preliminary round are as follows:

S.No	Judges names
01	Mr. Shaji. M
02	Mrs. Sherin Farhana EV
03	Ms. Manasa Krishnakumar
04	Mr. N. Sudalai Muthu
05	Mrs. K. Krishnaveni
06	Mr. M.A Saleem Ahmed
07	Ms. Sukanya H

08	Mrs. M. Shamima Parveen
09	Mr. Mohd. Salim
10	Mrs. S. Saba
11	Mrs. S. Syed Ali Fathima Nisha
12	Ms. J Lakshmi Charan
13	Mrs. Tamilselvi Jagadeesan
14	Mr. Ihsan Shahzad P.A
15	Mr. Azhar Iqbal Mozumder
16	Mrs. Muthamizh Thilagam P
17	Mr. Mr. Ankit Anand
18	Mrs. Samsul Sameera I
19	Ms. Neha Parveen

Semi-Finals –

Based on the first four highest rankings evaluated by the judges in Preliminary 1 & 2, four teams were finalized for the semis. The semi-finals started on 29th March 2021, whereby the first move was to draw lots and exchange memorials. The first session commenced at 10.00 am at Moot Hall, CSL, followed by the next session at 12.00 pm.

TEAM	SPEAKER 1	SPEAKER 2	Researches
CODE			
T11	Nasitha Nazneen	Arshadullah	Dhivyashree S.E
		Sheriff	
T8	Nishok Krishna	Md. Sultan	Kousik K
	V.S.	Maricar	
T9	Mohamed	Mohammed	Sandeep K
	Shakeel. M	Shakeel. A	
T5	Nilofer Fathima.	Sanobar Fatema.	Sanobar
	N	M	Fathima A

(The list of semi-finalists)



The judges of the semi-finalist were the following –



S. No	Name of the judges
01	Mr. Shaji.M
02	Mrs. M. Shameema Parveen
03	Mr. N. Sudalai Muthu

Researcher's Test -



As every team composes of a researcher and there is a specific award for the best researcher, a personal interview was conducted by Ms. Sherin Farhana and Mr. Saleem Ahmed. The researchers were assessed on,

- The knowledge of law and facts,
- Extent and use of research
- Grammar and style.

Based on these evaluation, the average marks obtained by the researchers, were taken into consideration and the highest one being, T-11 from the lot, was awarded.

Finals –



Based on the performance of teams in the semi-finals, the knock out procedure was followed, of which T-8 & T-11 were finalised. We had two practicing advocated as the bench for the finals.

Team	Speaker 1	Speaker 2	Researcher
code			
T-8	Nishok Krishna	MD Sultan	Kousik K
	V.S	Maricar	
T-11	Nashita	MD	Dhivyashree S.E
	Nazneen A	Arshadullah	-
		sheriff	

The Valedictory function –



The Valedictory function was commenced by 5:00 pm, and the MC for the session was Velpandiar. The convenor and the Coordinator of MCC spoke on how the last two days' competition happened. Followed by which the Dean of CSL gave the special address, and the chief guests for the day, Adv. K.M. Aasim Shehzad and Adv. Preetha. S. Sharma, spoke on their experience in being a judge and how they lived their college days, emphasizing how important mooting is for every law students.

The most awaited session of prize distribution was carried on,



RESULTS -

Winners	- Nishok Krishna V.S, MD Sulthan Maricar M.A.M, Kousik K
Runners up	- Nashita Nazneen A, MD Arshadullah Sheriff,
	Dhivyashree S.E
Best Speaker (Male)	- Nishok Krishna V.S
Best Speaker (Female)	- Nashita Nazneen A
Best Researcher	- Dhivyasree S.E